Keeping it Simple

Ch�mayo, N.M.Today someone asked me: What is one thing you could start doing today that would most improve the quality of your life? My answer was to simplify, to get rid of clutter on all levels. By clutter, I don’t mean the junk that piles up in the closets and corners. I mean everything that gets in the way of focus and clarity. All the things that take me off center. The things that keep me fuzzy, unable to keep track of my priorities. The things that let me be so unfocused that I fall down.

Recently I tuned in to a phone conference call with Jennifer Louden and Vickie White (See my blogroll at right: Life Design Strategies) and Vickie said something that keeps echoing in my mind. She said, “Your clutter holds your dreams.” Anything that keeps you from connecting is clutter, be it physical, mental, emotional or spiritual. Over-busyness, emotional attachments we hold on to for too long, a chaotic home, even fat. She defines clutter as anything that is unfinished, unused, unresolved, tolerated or disorganized. When we clear our clutter we permit our creativity to burst out.

I realize that for me, that means staying home, not traveling right now. Making my home my centered place, the place where I can breathe clearly and feel at peace. In two weeks I have to travel across the country for a weekend. (Talk about a carbon footprint!!) Between now and then, I am going to focus on keeping things simple and focused. Then look forward to a summer of fine tuning that focus, clearing my own clutter.

Leave a Reply

