On again off again

Okay, today I’m not minding the job so much.  The secret seems to lie in doing loud and embarrassing things with the kids.  We’re all happier doing that.  It is interesting how laughter truly is a tonic.  Laughing just makes you feel better.  Now I’m looking at a weekend of grading papers, getting ready for the quarter to end.

I also need to make time for caring for myself.  I’ll go to the Farmer’s Market in the morning, then to a nearby Hmong New Year celebration. Something else, but I don’t know what aside from schoolwork.

I had some scary news yesterday.  My son the house remodeler removed some rotten siding from the back of my house to replace it, and found some active termite damage.  Interesting, as I had a termite inspection only two years ago and it was clean.  He says it isn’t a very big deal cost-wise to fix, but it looks shocking to me.  The 4×6 that supports the back of the house is totally chewed up.  Did they really manage all that in only two years, or did the inspector miss it?  I wonder if it explains the kind of bounciness in that corner of the house.  Owning a house is a never-ending adventure, that’s for sure.  The money pit.

2 thoughts on “On again off again

  1. blkdrama says:

    Sounds like it’s all good Lynn. Good to have a son with expertise that is good for you. Good to have a chance to reflect on what’s happening in your teaching world and in your personal life.
    All good Lynn, Keep tryin’ with those kids,
    You will love them
    Bonnie

  2. lynnjake says:

    I do love the kids. I just haven’t really figured out how to teach (or even manage) them yet. Surely I will, however.

Leave a Reply

