Puzzlement and Elation

I am of two minds this morning.  First, I am elated by Obama’s election.  It gives me hope for our country, for us as a people that we have elected by such a huge margin this man and the position of hope and change that he embraces.  John McCain conceded graciously, and I appreciated that as well.  What I don’t understand is the people whose commentary I read in my local newspapers who are disappointed, who seemed to have expected a different outcome, who say they are worried about our country now.  What is left to worry about after eight years of George Bush’s devastation of our country and others?  How could anyone have hoped for a fine tuning and continuation of those policies?  Which of us is rich enough or blind enough to think that narrow-minded Republican platform is good for the United States or the world?  Beyond my incredulity at such a stance, I think it’s just our turn.  How dare they be all disappointed that they didn’t win after taking (literally in the first one) the past two presidential elections with such an incredibly harmful result?  We have watched the horrific results and had to just go along with it all for so long now.  We’ve watched that bumbling fool they elected for eight long years now, and really, we’ve had enough.

It’s time for them to move over and just see if someone else with more heart and more consideration for the common people will work.  I liked Obama’s comment to those who didn’t vote for him that he is their president, too.  I sat on my sofa listening to his speech and cried.  I felt the shifting of a deep depression and shame that I’ve carried for the past eight years, and hadn’t realized was so pervasive to my being.  I hope those who wanted a different outcome are able to see that change is a positive thing and can bring themselves to join in the effort to reclaim the goodness and sense of community that has always been part of the intention of this nation.

And then there is Proposition 8.  I don’t get that.  Why are people so threatened by what other people do in their personal life?  Why does the marriage of two women or two men so threaten people?  How will those people’s marriage threaten anyone else’s?  It just doesn’t make sense to me.  Why would anyone stand against people who love one another?  Why marginalize yet another group of people?  How much longer will it take until all our citizens can be free?

Behind the elation and the hope there remains puzzlement.  But a change is in the wind…YES WE CAN!!!

3 thoughts on “Puzzlement and Elation

  1. blkdrama says:

    I think that duality of Obama and Proposition 8 is what we are all about. And I’m with you. I don’t get it either. I don’t get anyone supporting Sarah P. do you?
    But now it’s in Obama’s hands to bring us together and I wake up with sunshine so I say,
    YES HE/WE CAN!
    Can you imagine how last night would have been if McCain won? Won’t have been very historic.
    Bonnie

  2. dogtrax says:

    It’s hard to add to your thoughts here, as you articulate much of what I was thinking.

    You wrote: What is left to worry about after eight years of George Bush’s devastation of our country and others?

    Yeah.

    And now, the real pressure is on Obama to convince all of those people that he is their president, too. I am confident that he can do his part — but will people on the right listen?

    Kevin

  3. lynnjake says:

    Kevin I so agree with you about the people on the right. Today this editorial was in our local paper, which had endorsed McCain. I think it speaks to your concern rather well. http://tinyurl.com/5j2zsr

    Bonnie, I’m with you on the Palin comment. I never did get her. She seemed to have little other than cuteness going for her. How does one rally around that?

    Onward and upward. May we all join as one voice, one effort in the days to come!
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

