Taking it all on

Today is a day of preparation.  Preparing for Melissa’s bachelorette party tonight: making pozole, buying prizes for a game, buying a pair of green underpants for my friend to give her in a game because my friend doesn’t have time to do so.  Preparing for Thanksgiving: making cranberry sauce, pumpkin pies and precooking the yams.  Also, picking up the turkey, buying shoes for the wedding on Saturday, preparing a basket of goodies for the wedding couple’s hotel suite on Saturday, going to visit the hotel suite this morning to see what we might do to prepare it for a luxurious night apart from its being itself (the Executive Suite at the Hotel Diamond is no sniffing matter!), making the concentration game for the bachelorette party in which the prizes are candy with names like Hot Tamales, Big Hunk, Nerds and Airheads and buying said candy.

Breathe.  Did I say making pozole?  Yeah.  Okay, did I say writing 30,000 words to a novel I’ve begun and want to finish by Sunday?  Oh, I forgot that.  Yet it runs around in my head nearly every minute.  I’m onto an idea that I like, but I’m too busy preparing to write.  And it will get worse before it gets better.  All must be purchased before Friday because I wouldn’t dare be in a store on Friday.  Black Friday.  All hell breaks loose in the shopping world Friday.  No stopping to pick up something I forgot Friday.  Today is the day.  That’s why I went to Safeway at 6:00 A.M. and at 7:00 A.M. am already cooking pozole.  It’s also why I went to Walgreen’s at 6:48 A.M. to buy the candy with goofy names for the game.  Because I couldn’t sleep and those stores were already open.

The thing is, no matter how much advance planning and shopping I do, it’s the last minute stuff that’ll sink me.  Send me out into the fray at the worst possible hour.  Happens every time.

Leave a Reply

