Sick again ~ What’s going on?

I am sick again, another cold has struck with a vengeance a couple of days ago.  This is about the fourth time since the school year began.  Over the winter break I was the sickest, with asthmatic bronchitis.  I am not usually a sickly person at all.  I usually fight things off easily, so this is a little disturbing.  I’m actually thinking about doing some sort of cleanse.  I’ve felt sluggish and kind of foggy for a while, and this just tops it off.  I wonder if anyone who reads this has any information about this sort of thing.

Some of the women in my book club are doing a 28 day cellular cleanse, a la Scott Ohlsgard (I think that is his name).  I’m not sure where to begin, so may order his book to check it out.  I’ve already looked for it at B&N and S&S, and will still check Lyon’s before I order it.  Another possibility is a book called Healing with Whole Foods by Paul Pitchford.  I guess since I have his huge book, I could start by reading that. (D’oh!)  Maybe I should do a cleanse and then follow his dietary advice.  I have to do some reading, it seems.

This cleansing idea seems like a commitment to discomfort (read giving up the food I love that is not so good for me), but what could be less comfortable than what I’m feeling now?  I think I really need a detox of my whole system.  I’m going to check it out and I’ll keep track of the process here.  I promise to leave out any really gory details!

4 thoughts on “Sick again ~ What’s going on?

  1. dkzody says:

    I haven’t done a cleanse except for a colonoscopy and that was just terrible.

    However, I would think that cutting out sugar and white flour for a few weeks might help. Drink lots of juices, teas, and eat fruits and veggies and grains.

    I think so much of our food is over-processed and is hurting us. That’s probably why I got sick yesterday, too much processed foods just took me down.

    I’m a big believer in vitamin supplements, one of them being a probiotic. It seems to have really helped with the typical viruses that hit teachers.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  2. lynnjake says:

    Thanks, Delaine. I make sure to eat plain, acidophilus yogurt every day, or almost every day for the probiotic effect. I also frequently make smoothies with raw spinach in them. However, having said that, I obviously need to look at everything else I consume. I would probably see a huge benefit just from the ideas you suggest without going into the full-on detox/cleanse. Maybe I can ease into it!

  3. dkzody says:

    Our daughter’s mother-in=law had to cut out all wheat, dairy, meat, sugar, and gluten for a month to find out what was wrong. She can put one thing at a time back into the diet. At the end of the month her husband was crazy, but she was feeling very good. It can be hard but feeling good can make it worth it.

Leave a Reply

