Light Paintings



I used to make quilts of richly saturated solid color fabrics mixed with black. I hand quilted them with either black or shiny gold thread. I loved the process and was always a little disappointed to finish one. There was something about the vibrancy of the colors that satisfied my creativity in a rich way. I haven’t made a quilt in years, but lately I’ve been making light paintings at night. I am as satisfied with these photos as I was with the quilts. Sometimes I feel so frivolous or like I’m copping out by taking these, but really, I don’t care. I love how they look.

Leave a Reply

