All things considered…

img_5522A week ago I had occasion to talk to a friend I knew 40 years ago, who I had not spoken with for that long.  He asked me, “Have you had a good life?” I loved that question!  Forty years is indeed long enough to ask that, and it gave me reason to consider…have I had a good life?  I’ve been thinking about it ever since, and have come to the conclusion that I have indeed had a good life.  Not that it was ever in doubt, but sometimes I complain.  Sometimes I get a little depressed and feel a little wronged by circumstances that have befallen me.

But really, I should say “by circumstances that I have occasioned.  And hopefully, learned from.”  And when I look with a long lens, I have indeed had a good life.  And I expect more of the same!

Leave a Reply

