Camera Repair???

img_5627

I am distraught.  Well, sort of.  Definitely off kilter.  Last night I went to a party out at the Sacramento River (accepting all invitations that come my way, remember…) and on my way down the hill from the taco truck I hit a very slippery patch of grass and fell down.  No big deal, just a little banged up.  When I got home I remembered to take the battery out of my camera and charge it, and when I put the new one in and turned on my camera to see if the second battery had taken a charge, the lens was sort of stuck and wouldn’t come out.  I noticed the problem and adjusted it a little and it was fine.  When I fell I had on a little backpack and the camera was in there, and it must have been jarred when I hit the ground.  I was so relieved that it was okay.

About an hour ago I went out for a little photowalk, and when I stopped to take my first shot, discovered that the LCD screen is shattered!  I’m so sad about that.  This is not the time to buy a new camera, and I have this commitment to a photo a day.  I think it still takes pictures, but I can’t see what I’m taking a picture of for anything.  I hope I can get it fixed.  If not, well.  That will be sad indeed.

5 thoughts on “Camera Repair???

  1. dkzody says:

    I don’t know if the screen can be fixed. Some of my students have had the same thing happen, and in every case they have not been able to get it fixed. I hope you have a really good camera store in your town. We have one here that I trust. If it can’t be fixed, they will tell me. I’ve spent some pretty big bucks getting digital cameras fixed, but they still work. Hope you have the same luck with yours.

  2. lynnjake says:

    I did get my camera fixed. I sent it away to Precision Camera Repair, and they made it good as new. The cost was $136 including shipping back to me. Definitely cheaper than a new camera.

  3. dkzody says:

    Even though it costs quite a bit, it’s still better than buying a new one. I like the idea of fixing rather than having to throw out.

Leave a Reply

