Great Beginning of Summer Lifesaving…Day 2

This is so interesting.  Making the list is easy, remembering what is on it, not so much.  The thing is, I am realizing that I don’t have to do it all on the first or second day.  Part of taking care of myself is being kind and accepting of whatever I have to bring each day.  I love making lists, and I always feel that if I make a list, whatever is on it will happen.  I really do know better!  Gently nudging myself toward my goals is progress.

Today I began the day with a green drink.  I’ve been feeling a little sick for some reason, and that was a nice cleansing way to begin.  I am feeling better already just for recognizing that I’m trying something new.  I’m going to make a little checklist tonight, just so I don’t forget what I’m meaning to do.  And then I’m going to be  gentle with myself as I begin to nudge my habits around.  I have lived a long time without placing much priority on caring for myself.  For many years I put my family first, and for the past eighteen or so, my work.  I am careful to succeed at work, even if that means I put myself low on my priority list.  And usually I do.  So this will not change overnight.  And that’s okay with me.  One thing at a time.  This is a blessing.  Onward and upward!!

4 thoughts on “Great Beginning of Summer Lifesaving…Day 2

  1. susan says:

    Lynn, it’s so interesting to read your posts. I am really experiencing many of the same things you are, and it’s incredible how similar our lists are. It’s great to know someone else is also trying this. Will be thinking of you and wishing you luck! Susan

  2. lynnjake says:

    Thanks Susan. I like the idea of doing this with a partner. It keeps me conscious of doing it when I think that I’m not alone in the venture. Have a great day.

  3. lynnjake says:

    Hi Alicia, It does seem that way. This is such a day by day, hour by hour thing. Like slowing down to be kind, and it’s to me. Definitely something new.
    I still have books for you!

Leave a Reply

