The Summer Experiment, Day 3

Yeah, I’m at the acronym stage, for today at least.  I think I’m starting to get the hang of this.  I’ve had my green drink breakfast on my front porch the past two days, taking time to put my local whole grain organic toast on a piece of Fiestaware rather than on a towel or the table.  Little things. Just about everything I ate yesterday was from around here – the olive oil, the eggs and rice, the fruits and the vegetables. I managed to be fine without going to the ice cream shop a few blocks away, although I thought about it pretty seriously for a while.  I wrote in my journal, took photos and did a few other things on my list, didn’t do a few others on the not to do list.  It all felt pretty smooth.

I am noticing how I cope with discomfort.  When something happened that made me feel less than, I found that I wanted to play solitaire or watch some TV or eat something sweet.  It was interesting to observe it and then let go, to write about it in the journal rather than numb out with those other behaviors.  I’m not saying I didn’t do them, but I noticed why I did them and let go much sooner.  Writing in the journal helped.  Reminded me of what matters more to me.

It appears that I’ve embarked on a journey that will be more impactful than I imagined when I oh-so-casually took it on.  I like it!

2 thoughts on “The Summer Experiment, Day 3

  1. dkzody says:

    I envy you getting to start your summer vacation while it’s still May. We have two more weeks with lots happening in those last few days. June 12 will be my magic day.

  2. lynnjake says:

    Oh no, it’s not summer really! I still have two weeks of school left as well. To be followed by summer school and some other work stuff. It has been really hot, so I decided to call it summer and start my “experiment” anyway. No point waiting to take care of myself!

Leave a Reply

