BSLE Day 12: Am I still here?

IMG_6462

Well, yesterday’s events led me directly to the chocolates I’d purchased for the summer school teacher meeting I had set up.  Quite a few of them, actually.  Enough that I woke up with a vicious sugar headache this morning.  It’s gone now, and new developments today have the chocolates screaming at me again.  I wonder how I learned to eat about things that disagree with me.  Come to think of it, I do one of three things: eat sugar, preferably chocolate, play mahjong solitaire on the computer or read a novel.

Never am I gifted with the urge to lift weights or run or garden or work on my own novel. Nor do I erupt.  Ever.  I’m just attracted to the mind numbing stuff.  Hm.  How long have I known this?  Apparently not very long.  Actually, I have known this for a while, but I take myself to such a numbness that I forget to change anything about my behavior.

I’m going to make that changes chart tonight.  I swear.  Right after I go to the library and see what’s new.

3 thoughts on “BSLE Day 12: Am I still here?

  1. dkzody says:

    I erupt, get it out of my system, and move on. My department mates, my husband, and even my students, have figured this out and just stay out of my way for awhile. Then, it’s all fine.

  2. blkdrama says:

    You need to be able to chill guilt-free. I give you permission! Watch those chocolates, though. Remember your resolve! Get out the water bottle!

  3. lynnjake says:

    Oh, you both have a point. I guess an occasional eruption would be good for me. Might scare the seventh graders into some sort of conformance with my wishes. And I resolve to drink at least a 32 ounce bottle of water every day that I”m off. Maybe even more. The chocolates…I’ll fade them too. Definitely.

Leave a Reply

