Making Mandalas

IMG_6913_2One summer, I think it was about 2004, I made mandalas.  I carried black paper, colored pencils, a sharpener and a compass in my bag and I made mandalas, sometimes several every day.  It was kind of a way to check in with myself, to recenter my focus.  Some of them were really tiny, only about two and a half inches in diameter, and some took up the extent of a piece of black artagain paper, about nine inches across.

Amazingly, doing this art actually did help me to recenter myself.  It was like art meditation.  In the past week or so some of the old mandalas have resurfaced, maybe a reminder that I need to get something going.  It is so easy to get mired in the decluttering that I fail to start smething new.  I just keep on clearing out the old stuff.  Learning from what I find?  Certainly, to some degree.  But it’s time to start some fresh activity as well.  So, yeah.  I’m going to do that.  Photos to follow!

4 thoughts on “Making Mandalas

  1. blkdrama says:

    That’s great. Not a way I have ever found comfort but I so respect the magic others can make with craft materials.
    Bravo! What do you think about as you create your pieces?
    Bonnie

  2. lynnjake says:

    That’s a good question, Bonnie. It is kind of akin to writing in a journal for me. I usually combine the two – it’s like the mandala is the visual part of whatever I’m writing about or need to write about. Not an illustration, more a picture of the essence of whatever is going on I think.

  3. Georgia says:

    Cool to read your experience with mandalas. I started making them about three months before my husband died. I made one every day and dated them and continued after his death for a while. They were all on white paper. That was 3 years ago. I’ve recently started making them on black with soft pencils and gel pens. ai really enjoy looking at them in sequence to see where I’ve been. When things were spinning out of control the details got tighter and tighter and I started drawing nets over everything. After his death, there was an explosion of color and light.

  4. lynnjake says:

    Georgia, that is so lovely. What a good way to go through the process of your husband’s passing and your own grieving and moving on. Thank you so much for sharing it with me. I’d love to see photos of your mandalas if you feel like sharing.
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

