Time for a shift

IMG_0062After posting it on iPhoto, I looked and looked at this photo, trying to figure out what it was.  I recognized the white circles as part of my blouse.  Oh, and above them my hair.  I have not a clue how or why this shot happened, but it seems to be fitting for the way I’m thinking tonight.  Over the past couple of days or so it’s become obvious to me that it’s time for a shift.  Long ago I learned from a wise person that if you want to make a change, you don’t have to make a big one all at once.  You just have to make a small shift somewhere to give your energy room to move and change will follow.  The weather has changed and it’s time for that little nudge.  I’ve been so mired in past sludge, and pulled down by ongoing drudgery that I seem to have lost my glow lately.  Everything hs been hot and dry and kind of gritty around my house.  At work, oh I don’t even want to talk about work. When someone asks me what I like to do when I go home I don’t know what to say.  Read?  Only just before bed.  I seem to just sit around and wait for it to be time to start tomorrow.

But this week the weather changed.  The hot tub is once again an attractive option.  Taking walks in the evening sounds pleasant, as does cooking something simple to eat.  Reclaiming my house as my own safe haven by cleaning it all and fixing a few things feels like a necessity all of a sudden.  I had no problem ignoring it all summer, but now I want it cozy.  The list of changeable things is long, but for now, just a little shift is all I need.  More to come…

2 thoughts on “Time for a shift

Leave a Reply

