Does this yoga class make my butt look big?

I went to a yoga class today for the first time in a several years.  Once again, I realize that as much as I like to think doing yoga is like this calm and balanced sunset, it is just not like that.  I love the part at the end, where you just lay there and relax everything.  I’m good at that part.  I didn’t go to sleep or anything.  And I did make it through the whole class, so that is something to be glad about.  But my gosh, I didn’t realize how hard it is, and how flexible those people are who can actually do the poses.  I sat behind a woman who was, well, a yogi.  Every pose was done to its maximum, straight and perfect, stretched out to its most extreme version.  Meanwhile I was struggling to reach my toes, or even my ankle, never mind balancing on one leg while I stretched everything.  And those mirrors.  Oh, my gosh.  Those mirrors made my butt look so big.  My mirror at home doesn’t do that.  Or maybe I just don’t turn sideways and flex in front of it while wearing thin cotton knit pants.  Whatever.

So, will I go again?  I think so.  It’s the first time I’ve been to any kind of movement class in years, and it’s to my credit that I didn’t quit halfway through. I thought about quitting, but somehow I hung in there until the laying down part.  Maybe if I keep going something will happen.  Like I’ll be able to reach my toe, or stand on one leg while stretching my arms out in front.  Maybe my profile in  the mirror will change…

ADDENDUM:  It is the next day now and my whole body is sore!  I haven’t felt this way in such a long time.  Even the weight workouts I do don’t make me feel like this.  I am pretty excited about it, really.  I will definitely continue to develop this practice.  Now I just wonder why I waited so long.

Does anyone have any tips for a beginner?

2 thoughts on “Does this yoga class make my butt look big?

  1. Bonnie K says:

    Stay with it! I think you will come to love it and feel renewed. It’s all about you. No competition allowed. I was always the one in class who was picked on by the teacher and I loved it. She was just checking in to make sure I was doing the move just right and that’s what you want right?
    Bonnie

  2. lynnjake says:

    Yes, you are right. I loved it when the teacher came by and paid a little attention to me. I felt flexible when he touched my knee briefly and said, “Oh you’re nice and loose.” He kept pointing out how to do the poses when you can’t really do them. It was pretty great. I think I’m going back tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

