Could it really be the wheat?

See how delicious that bread looks?  Fresh and crusty, kind of soft inside?  I love it.  Now hold that thought…

I just spent a week away from home, working in Sacramento and staying in the Sheraton Grand hotel.  It’s very upscale, located right downtown, no kitchen or even microwave to be found.  I had to eat my meals out every day and it happened that I ate rice with almost every meal.  I noticed how great I felt all week and hoped it would continue when I got home, thinking maybe it had to do with the rice, or maybe it was just a good spell.  For me feeling good comes and goes, and I’ve always thought it was kind of a serendipitous thing.  Sometimes I feel strong and clear and sometimes I feel achey and stiff and, well, old.  After last week I wondered when I had ever felt so sick, because it seemed so right to feel good.

Yesterday after the Farmer’s Market, I bought a delicious loaf of multi-grain seeded bread from my favorite bakery, and I made tomato sandwiches with it for lunch and dinner.  At this time of year, I just can’t get enough tomato sandwiches.  I love them!

Imagine my surprise when I woke up this morning feeling stiff and achy and old.  I didn’t walk to coffee like I usually do because I just didn’t feel like it.  I had coffee with a couple of friends as is my custom on the weekend.  In the course of the conversation Tom mentioned that he was not eating wheat because it seemed to make his joints ache.  Through trial and error, he had drawn a direct connection between wheat and achiness and weight gain.  There was some conversation about people of Celtic ancestry having a propensity to gluten intolerance.  Suddenly it occurred to me to connect those same dots for myself.

I’d been mentally pooh-poohing the sudden popularity of gluten intolerance, even while wondering what it was all about.  I have definitely got some issues with food – bloating and cravings, things like that.  And the achiness.  Suddenly I remembered an allergist telling me years ago that I was intolerant of wheat, sugar and dairy, along with all the normal pollens.  I long ago quit eating to honor all that because it’s just too much trouble.  But today I wonder…

I think it might be worth a try to begin with wheat.  Just drop wheat for a while.  I can work up to sugar and dairy after I see how I feel.  I’ll keep you posted as this experiment progresses.

One thought on “Could it really be the wheat?

  1. dkzody says:

    My daughter’s mother in law went on a gluten free diet and her hubbie went along, well,because he had to if he wanted to eat. He lost lots of weight on the one month trial, but even better, all of his arthritis pain dropped away. They both felt years younger after the month and kept going gluten free. He is even more fanatical now than she is because he feels so good.

    I am lactose intolerant and get very ill with just a little dairy.

Leave a Reply

