On the wheat wagon


After that post about the wheat, I did some further investigation online.  Then I went to see my chiropractor and she did some muscle testing (very controversial, but I figure it can’t hurt) to determine food intolerances.  She came up with wheat, sugar, soy and nightshade family (tomatoes and peppers).  She suggested I remove these items from my diet for 30 days and see how I feel.  Then I guess I’ll try adding them back in one at a time.  I’m not sure about that second part because I’m barely starting the not eating them part.  This is definitely tricky to comply with 100%, especially when away from home and eating food cooked in a commercial kitchen.  Fortunately I’m at a spa that believes in preparing very clean, healthy food, so I am not having any trouble finding things I can eat.  The grilled zucchini and asparagus and plain yogurt with raspberries and blueberries are really a treat.  She suggested I eat a little fat with fruit to mitigate its sugar, so I’m adding some avocado or cheese or the yogurt to the berries.

So, apart from the vegetables and fruits above, do you know how many things that means eliminating?  A lot.  Really, a lot, but I’m not feeling deprived yet. Tonight my stomach doesn’t feel great, so I’ll have to see what that’s about.  It’s too soon to be all delicate, so maybe it’s the water.  Maybe I need a big piece of chocolate cake!  I’ll keep you updated, in case you’re interested.

2 thoughts on “On the wheat wagon

  1. lynnjake says:

    Delaine, the food here is all fresh and organic. Very little if any bread served, lots of fresh vegetables and fruit. It’s wonderful! My problem here is quantity of food eaten, not the quality! But I figure I can’t go wrong overeating grilled vegetables.

Leave a Reply

