Losing the overwhelm…a VPA

It’s Sunday evening again.  This teacher’s least favorite time.  I’m feeling the pressure of things undone, things to be done and another week to come.  I have so many things undone tonight, and there seems to be no way to catch them all.  So, it’s time for a Very Personal Ad (a VPA, ala Havi Brooks at The Fluent Self.)  It goes like this:

Here is what I want:

A resolution to the dismay I feel almost all the time lately.

Ways this could work:

I could plan my classes even tighter than I already do, leaving no room for any squeaking.  Or I could rearrange my classroom.  Or I could do a lot of art and build a cushion of peace around my heart.  The weather could change and my students might calm down because they are a little cold.   I could quit going on Facebook ever, for maybe a week or two, which would leave more time to get caught up on some things at home.  And at school. (No, I don’t go on Facebook at school.)  I could read a novel and get my knitting organized cause knitting season is starting.  I could sit in the hot tub every night.  I could do a lot of writing.

My Commitment:

Make a list of things I have to do, things I want to do and things I ought to do.  Priorities.  Then start checking things off it.

Limit myself to half an hour a day on Facebook, the real estate site and other surfing activities.  For as long as it takes to pull things together. (a quasi e-sabbatical)

Drink lots of water and do some exercise.  Eat really well.  Get a massage.

Take at least a photo a day. Sing loudly for a while each day.

Sit in the hot tub.  Every day.

So, yeah.  That’s my very miscellaneous VPA for this week.  I’ll check in on it later in the week, to see how I’m doing.

Addendum:  Oh dear!  The hot tub idea won’t work until the weekend.  There are ants all around the rim of it.  I failed to notice them in the dark until I was getting out…yeah.  Ew.

Leave a Reply

