It’s NaNo time again!

Oh my gosh, here we go again.  It’s NaNoWriMo time again, that month where about 130,000 nutzoid people attempt to write a novel of 50,000 words.  I made it to 50K last year for the first time out of four tries.  Up until about yesterday I didn’t think I was going to do it again, but now I find that I can’t resist.  Once again I have a trip planned for November, but this time, rather than a trip to a nationwide conference where I’ll see tons of friendly colleagues, I am going to Mexico to visit my mom and her husband.  If they are even there – she has been ill and it’s uncertain whether she’ll make it home before I go.  Either way, I’m planning to go and I will write.  A lot.  At least that’s my plan.

I wonder if it matters that I have no plot ideas, no characters, no witty conversation, no deep philosophical ideas to impart.  Nope, I have nothing.  Nada.  Well, wait.  I have my cool Scrivener novel-writing program, and my lightening-fast typing fingers ready.  I have XX years worth of experience to pull something from.  What else?  Surely there’s more.

The last two years I was the “Municipal Liaison” for Chico.  It’s fun, and you get to be a little more in the know, but it is also a responsibility.  I planned meet and greets at cafes in October, and a kick-off write-in at 11:30 P.M. on October 31.  I planned once or twice-weekly write-ins at cafes and showed up for most of them. All this in the interest of generating local energy for this project.  This year I decided not to do it.  I turned it over to someone else who seemed to really want to do the job.  Unfortunately I missed the Meet & Greet (held at her office, not a public spot), and there doesn’t seem to be anything scheduled for a kickoff tonight.  Oh well.  Maybe I was overdoing it.  I will see if anyone wants to meet for writeoffs occasionally.

That still leaves me with no plot, no characters and all that.  I think maybe being Municipal Liaison made me focus more on this event, seeing as how I felt responsible for other people.  Hmpf.   I hope I dream creatively tonight.  This could be a very short or at least a somewhat painful project!

3 thoughts on “It’s NaNo time again!

  1. stuckinmypedals says:

    Oh, man, I am right there with you! I have less than nothing in terms of ideas or anything this year. I’m just going to start typing and see where things go. I hope you dream something fantastic tonight!

  2. blkdrama says:

    I was sure I would not be trying this this year, but this blog post…it’s all your fault Lynn and you Alicia too. I’m in without a plot or characters or a story line. So I’m cheating at the moment, beginning, playing around and pulling out that Scrivner software to try it out.

    All your faults, you two and neither of you will be with me in Orlando. Rats!
    Okay let’s keep each of us focused and inspired.
    Bonnie

  3. dkzody says:

    How about the old house, bought by a couple of young people, all ready to make it over when they find it contains a corpse that has mummified. I think this would work in your town, Lynn, since it’s small, old,historical, hysterical….all that stuff.

Leave a Reply

