Day in a Sentence Sunday

What a week it’s been!  Here in Northern California we’ve run the gamut from socked in fog to balmy sunshine with the scent of violets in the air.  I think most of the rest of you experienced a very different sort of week.  I almost felt guilty to be soaking up the sunny days as I heard about the snow piling up across much of the rest of the country.   Thanks to everyone who took time to contribute your slumpy day remedies.  Here are your contributions:

Kevin says, “I turn to my books and music and hope for imaginary diversion from the snow, sleet and yuck.”

Cheryl throws herself into the season, “Since I love snow, I build a snowperson, in other weather, I look for the rainbow, run through a sprinkler when hot and smell the new wet grass in spring.”

Gail likes to get lively, “Great question.
I tune in to some rowdy Irish music such as Clancy Brothers in order to liven up the most dreary day and it goes very well with a workout – another energizer if you’re up for it.”

Alicia, of course, is on her bike: “It’s not a sentence by any stretch of the imagination, but Diane Ackerman says it all for me “When I go biking, I repeat a mantra of the day’s sensations: bright sun, blue sky, warm breeze, blue jay’s call, ice melting and so on. This helps me transcend the traffic, ignore the clamorings of work, leave all the mind theaters behind and focus on nature instead. I still must abide by the rules of the road, of biking, of gravity. But I am mentally far away from civilization. The world is breaking someone else’s heart.”

Amy Van Zanten has a great idea: “Cleaning and decluttering takes me out of a slump any day.”

Delaine heads for the kitchen: “Baking a batch of brownies on an overcast day can do much to raise everyone’s spirits.”

Amanda makes nasty weather sound like fun: “Be it from sickness or snow, our family enjoyed many moments of quiet relaxation – soaking up snuggles, making movie-night memories, and consuming copious amounts of coffee (thankfully that was just me, and not my toddlers!).”

Bonnie sounds ready for a sunny vacation: “When the walls start closing in, I think about having a drink and instead, I usually grab something else: my camera, my guitar, my remote for a movie, something else… distraction… and movement and it it usually works. Usually… but given this long winter, distraction is a challenge.”

And finally, anytime I’m feeling in a slump I just grab my camera and head out to the river.  The daily show out there never fails to lift my spirits.

Thanks everyone, for participating this week!  You all lift my spirits every time I see that little message saying that another comment is waiting for me.  Have a great week!

5 thoughts on “Day in a Sentence Sunday

  1. blkdrama says:

    What a great way to consider options for snow distraction. We are not done yet. And that photo at the end of your post is what I’ll be thinking of as I get ready for Aruba. We leave the morning after the Oscars!
    Thanks Lynn,
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

