Splendor in the skies

Today was one of those delightful February days off.  I awoke with a runny nose, cough and my ears both completely clogged.  Miserable, I spent the day reading and grading papers.  I even trimmed a few bushes in my yard.  By the end of the day, I wanted nothing more than a nap.  It was a slightly cloudy day, and I knew the sunset would probably be nice, but I really just wanted to sleep.  Finally, at the last minute I decided I should take my camera out and see what would happen.  As I made the drive out to the river, I saw these incredibly fluffy, curly clouds just beginning to turn golden.   With hope in my heart, I drove a little faster until I arrived at the river.

My first clue that today might be special was when I spotted pink clouds in the east, behind the trees.  That only happens on special occasions…

I went down to the river bank, and suddenly, wow…I just couldn’t take it all in at the same time.  There is no panoramic camera wide enough for what occurred out there today.  In the next hour, the sky exploded in color.  It was like being inside a kaleidoscope…

Even the water was on fire.

I felt like everything was spinning around me as I tried to take it all in.I just kept moving and taking pictures and trying to see it all at once.  Finally it began to calm down…

Just as my heart slowed down a little, this happened…


And this…

Once I finally was able to breathe again, I went home.

Day is done.  I think I get more mileage out of a good sunset than anyone I know.  It’s a visceral thing for me.  That red color just reaches in and grabs my heart, fills me up like nothing else.  Today a friend commented on the sudden stepping up of cosmic energy in the world, and after having experienced this, I concur.  Something big is afoot, and I want more of it!

4 thoughts on “Splendor in the skies

  1. dkzody says:

    These are great photos. I never manage to get sunsets so am loving to see yours. My picture a day (mostly) has fallen by the wayside as we have been packing and moving the tiny apartment. Guess I could take pictures of boxes! Not nearly as fantastic as your sunsets.

  2. lynnjake says:

    Thanks, Paul. I got hooked on this sort of photography a few years ago, and now I almost feel physical pain when I see a good sunset in action and I can’t get there to record it. I’m glad you enjoyed it. It makes the sharing worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

