Hints from Everywhere

Lately it seems like the Universe is trying to send me a message, only I can’t quite decipher it.  I seem to be particularly obtuse for some reason.  My left ear has been intermittently blocked for about a month now.  What is it I’m avoiding listening to?  Don’t even try to tell me what I need to do about it medically because I’ve done it all.  Hence my conclusion of avoidance.

Today I sat down to skim through the DVR’d Oprah shows from the past couple of weeks.  The first one I sort of watched was the one where Goldie Hawn came on and talked about happiness.  Apparently she’s done a lot of research about the topic, which makes her enough of an expert to appear on Oprah.  The gist of that was that meditation and lots of sex are both contributors to increased happiness.  Well d’oh! Guess I’d better get to my quiet place.

The next one I watched was Jennifer Hudson talking about (or trying not to talk about, I couldn’t really tell) her recent weight loss.  Apart from the creepiness of her deferring every answer about losing weight to her Weight Watcher “leader,” who didn’t want her to tell how much weight she’d lost, the message I heard from her was that if you want to do something, you have to actually do it.  And keep doing it until you get where you are planning to get.  That means eating reasonably and moving the body frequently.  Just joining a gym and Weight Watchers will not do a thing if you don’t follow through and do the work.  I definitely heard that.  I think, except for my blocked up ear that doesn’t really hear much of anything at all.

After watching all that Oprah, I went to the college to watch the Tibetan monk work on the mandala he is creating in the student union.  He was done for the day, but still there, and he gave me a lovely “Hello.”  The intricacy of what he is creating with sand is so beautiful.  I took some pictures there, because that’s what I do.  Then I went to the grocery store and bought a few things for the week, including a box of fat-free cookies, most of which I ate on the way home.  See what I mean about knowing there’s a message there, but not quite hearing it?  It’s like “The Hedgehog’s Song,” by the Incredible String Band, which says: “Well you know all the words and you sang all the notes but you never quite learned the song she sang.  I can tell by the sadness in your eyes that you never quite learned the song.”

Oh my, yes.  On that note, I’ll leave you with today’s photo of a tree full of tulips, like little hands offering up prayers.

One thought on “Hints from Everywhere

  1. stuckinmypedals says:

    I thought that episode of Oprah was weird, too. I mean I get that it’s not about the # of pounds lost, but about being healthy, but I felt like by dodging the questions, it just brought more attention to it. Kinda made for an awkward show.

    I’m sorry your ear continues to bother you. And I think you’re right about it being more than a medical thing.

    As for me, I think I’m hearing and doing, but am not seeing results. So I’m thinking my lesson is on perseverance and patience. Two things I could use lots more of!

    Feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

