My Week at the Movies

Let me begin by saying that I seldom go to see movies at the theater.  No special reason, it just usually seems like too much trouble.  Plus I like the popcorn a little too much.  This week, however, I have outdone myself with movie going.  Let me share my responses:

Sunday I went to see “Friends With Benefits.”  IMDB gave this movie 6.6 out of 10 stars possible.  It stars Mila Kunis, who is so cute, and Justin Timberlake, who apparently is becoming quite a top box office draw.  I kind of like him as an actor.  Yay Mickey Mouse club!While the outcome is predictable, the movie was pretty well done I thought.  It’s sweet and completely enjoyable.  Definitely an R rated movie, but not graphic.  I think the rating was spot on.

On Monday I went to see “Larry Crowne,” with Julia Roberts and Tom Hanks.  IMDB rated this on 6 out of 10 stars.  These two have long been on my list of favorite movie stars, so I expected it to be good. Julia Roberts plays a jaded, dour college professor who has pretty much given up on life.  Hanks plays a veteran who has just lost his job as a manager in a big box store because he doesn’t have a college degree.  Again, this one is a little predictable but certainly an enjoyable film.  It didn’t disappoint me.  Maybe I’m just easy, but I liked this movie a lot.

On Friday I went to see “Crazy Stupid Love.”  This one got 7.9 out of 10 stars.  Big hit in the making, I think.  The main characters are played by Steve Carell, Julianne Moore, Emma Stone (Who looks very much like Julianne Moore.  Are they related?!) and Ryan Gosling.  This movie opens with Carell and his wife in a restaurant, deciding what to order.  He is unsure, and she says, “I know what I want.  I want a divorce.”  This completely throws him, and the movie centers around his dealing with his new single state.  This one is rife with plots and subplots that circle around and run into each other.  It is unexpected, funny and a little touching in spots.  I’ll go see this one again when I find someone who wants to go.  I loved it!

On Saturday (I’m on a roll, aren’t I?) Melissa and I went to see “Horrible Bosses.”  IMDB gave this one 7.5 out of 10 stars.  When the previews started I almost panicked.  You know how the previews are designed for people who would go to the kind of movie you are about to see?  These were the scariest, most violent previews ever.  I was a little worried.  This story is about these three guys who have terrible bosses.  They decide that the only thing to do is to kill them, or have them killed.  This movie has a huge list of stars.  Jennifer Anniston, Kevin Spacey, Jason Bateman, Charlie Day(who has a really annoying voice) and Jason Sudeikis.  This one is hilarious in a kind of edge of your seat way.  They keep sneaking into people’s houses, which always puts me on edge.  This one was really fun and funny.  Anniston is really funny sometimes – I liked her in this one.  And Kevin Spacey was great.  So mean, not at all bland like he can sometimes be.  And the three employees?  Dufusy sort of yet completely likeable.

Finally, on Sunday I went to see a matinee of “Midnight in Paris.”  IMDB blessed this one with 8.1 out of 10 stars.  This one is the story of an American guy (played by Owen Wilson, who I find sort of annoying, but he fit the part) who is in Paris with his fiancee and her parents.  He keeps taking these midnight walks and each night as the clock strikes midnight, he is picked up by an old car which takes him back to a different era. This was such an interesting premise.  On these nightly forays he meets Hemingway, Gertrude Stein, Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald, Pablo Picasso, T.S. Elliot and other luminaries of the era.  I loved seeing them portrayed as they were.  This one is good and I’m really glad I went to see it.

Well, that is all.  Five movies in one week.  That is a lot of escaping, isn’t it?  I needed it I suppose, and it was great fun.  I hope you are intrigued enough to go see one or two of these.  See you at the movies!

4 thoughts on “My Week at the Movies

  1. blkdrama says:

    Nice girl! There’s still Sarah’s Key, The Whistleblower, The Help and one I loved: A Better Life… great immigrant story.
    Bonnie

  2. lynnjake says:

    These will have to be on my next list. “Sarah’s Key” is not here yet, but I see that it is out in San Francisco. I will definitely go see “The Help,” and I’m also looking forward to “Snow Flower and the Secret Fan,” even though it didn’t get huge reviews. I’ll definitely keep my eyes open for “A Better Life” and “Whistleblower.” Thanks for the tips.

  3. Jeannine says:

    We just saw Justin Timberlake in *The Social Network.* I had no idea he was a good actor, shame on me. And I was surprised at how interesting the movie was, too.

  4. lynnjake says:

    I agree Jeannine. Both that he is a good actor, and that “The Social Network” was interesting. I enjoyed it a lot. I think he manages to be the character he is portraying, not just JT acting like someone else, if that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

