Paleo October, Day 2

Recently I’ve been feeling kind of achy and sore a lot. I’m not sleeping all that well and, of course, I feel fat. Nothing new there! At the beginning of the summer my chiropractor advised me to lay off the gluten and sugar. She suggested I take a look at the book, Everyday Paleo by Sarah Fregoso. I did, and am pretty interested in it. The idea of eating simply, organically and locally resonates with me. I’ve tried to do that for some time. The no gluten part isn’t that hard for me, usually. I am kind of an addictive sort when it comes to that kind of stuff. That is, if I’m eating it I’m overboard about it, but if I’m not, I don’t miss it, so I think I’ll be okay there. It’s the lack of sugar that is hardest for me. I am a serious sugar addict. If I can make a few days without any maybe it’ll be like the bread and I won’t miss it either. Today I’m ready to quit already and go eat something sweet, however.

Feeling as achy and tired as I do lately, I’ve decided to take a step and try this for a month. Just to see how I feel at the end of that time. (I could probably try anything for a month and feel better, when I come to think of it. It’s more about focus and limiting myself than what I actually eat or don’t eat, I suspect. Ni modo.) I’m going to try this.

Today is day two and already it’s hard. I think I need sugar. A while ago I was dreaming of dipping some crusty French bread in olive oil and balsamic vinegar, with just a touch of sea salt on the plate. STOP. I’m not going there. Deep breath. My mental power is so strong when it comes to nagging at me to eat the things I don’t need or really want to eat. If I can turn it around, I’ll be in good shape! I decided to follow myself on my blog so that I can watch the process for this month. Not every day (boring) but every so often. So here is a little format I’ll use:

Weight: X plus or minus whatever the scale says. I weighed myself yesterday, so X will be that number. (I’m not publishing my weight here. TMI.)

Exercise: Good exercise is a big part of the Paleo deal. Does this mean I’ll actually go to the gym? I guess so.

Food: What good things have I come up with this week? I eat a great salad every day for lunch, and that doesn’t need to change. Every day I put lettuce, peppers, tomatoes, cucumber, avocado, Kalamata olives, a hard-boiled egg, some chicken or canned wild alaska salmon, and sometimes a couple of artichoke hearts in a container. At school I add some balsamic viniagrette (Newman’s light) and I am delighted with my lunch. It is breakfast and dinner I need to work on. More vegetables. Interesting food. There are several blogs about making Paleo food, and they include such interesting recipes – like mango chicken – that I think this should not be that hard if I’m willing to exert myself a little. (Oh right. The exertion is the hardest part.)

How I feel: Today I have a cold and I feel rotten. I’m stiff and sore if I stay in one place for very long. My hand hurts a little. Complete disclosure.

Anything else I should add? I’ll decide as I move forward with this thing. If this topic seems uninteresting, just check back in November. I’ll probably be writing a novel by then. Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Paleo October, Day 2

  1. stuckinmypedals says:

    I think it would also be interesting to track the times/events that you crave sugar. That pattern could be really telling in what is causing the craving. I know it is for me.

  2. Harrym says:

    http://www.accuweight.com/
    Haven’t tried this, but a friend of mine lost ~40 lbs and btw, his allergies. Said the accupressure thing to control the cravings worked well for him.
    More radical than what you’re trying to do, but the beads are interesting.
    Good luck with whatever you do.

  3. lynnjake says:

    Alicia, I agree. I’ll try looking at that. I remember once being really angry and stomping into the kitchen and throwing open the cupboard, looking for chocolate~ so I know you are right. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. lynnjake says:

    Okay. I’ll let you know how that’s going by tomorrow, when it’s Day 4. Gendar’s law, indeed.

Leave a Reply

