Paleo October, Day 9

It’s been a week now.  Given that I was stuck with a cold on the day before I began this inquiry, I’ve done okay, eating-wise, at least.  (As of yesterday the cold has become asthmatic bronchitis, but I’m not sure how that’s connected.  I guess maybe if I’d have been eating otherwise it might  pneumonia by now, who knows?)  Above is my shopping cart from last night.  Looks pretty virtuous, I’d say.  Here is my update, categorically:

Weight:  I am at X – 6.  Six pounds of water and inflammation, I think.  Too soon for it to be fat, but we’ll keep an eye on it.

Food:  I have continued to eat a daily salad at lunch, which has become my main meal.  I put all that same good stuff in it as I mentioned last week, the lettuce, peppers, tomatoes, avocado, olives, chicken or salmon, dried cherries or fresh mango and whatever else I find that looks good.  On Thursday I ran out of salad dressing and ran to Rite-Aid on my prep, thinking they’d have Newman’s but no such luck.  I wound up with some Ranch, which I don’t even like much.  So that pretty much sucked, and then on Friday I forgot my lunch at home and was really up a creek.  I ate a few carrots at the staff meeting (not even one of those pieces of chocolate that were all over the table!)  and drank some water.  On the way home we stopped at a new Lao/Thai restaurant and I ordered Larb.  The only down side of that was the roasted rice powder that is added to it.  That seemed minor though, and the rest was just vegetables and meat.  Very spicy, which was nice.  I’m still having sugar and milk in my coffee in the morning.  That will need to go, I imagine, if I’m to truly do this thing.  I think the milk will be harder than the sugar.  I will try coconut milk.  I wonder if it is sweeter than cow’s milk.  Certainly sounds more appealing, when I imagine a coconut versus a cow.  I’ve cooked all the veggies in my refrigerator this week, which is sort of unusual.  I have a tendency to shop for a family of five and then cook for a single person, which never quite balances out.

My favorite things this week were the oven roasted red bell peppers and cubed butternut squash.  I bought  bag of those squash cubes from Trader Joe’s, and drizzled them and the red bells with olive oil.  I sprinkled them with a little sea salt and baked them at 350 for about 40 minutes.    The peppers got a little crunchy, and the squash was super sweet.  They were so good, Avery and I ate them as after school snacks while we were driving home.

Today I’m baking (wrapped in foil) some beets for next week’s salads.

Exercise: Nothing yet.  Sigh.  It rained all week, and I was sick and coughing so I didn’t do a single thing, not even some yoga on my iPad.

How I feel:  Sick.  I have bronchitis, as I mentioned above, but I also have been having a stomach ache.  Is it because of things I’m eating that I shouldn’t or things that I’m missing?  Yesterday I decided I was missing dark chocolate with almonds, so I took care of that.  I bought a little bag of Dove chocolates and ate three of them and was satisfied.  I think before I’d have eaten ten, so that’s still an improvement.

Thanks for checking in.  I’ll keep you posted after Week Two.

2 thoughts on “Paleo October, Day 9

  1. blkdrama says:

    Salad and Chocolate, nice combination. For me, I need a good, lean STEAK!

    I want to hear that you feel better my friend. How was Sarah’s Key? We saw Ides of March today and it was excellent, depressing but excellent.

  2. lynnjake says:

    I didn’t get to Sarah’s Key. I wasn’t feeling good enough to go this weekend. Maybe I’ll get there this week. I’m off work for two days, so should be raring to go after that!

Leave a Reply

