Paleo October, Day 15

Hm. I’ve made it half the month now. This change in eating habits is a pretty great thing so far. Stepping back, I see that I definitely have a tendency to be a little permissive about sugar. I have it in my coffee in the morning and once in a while I eat a dark Dove chocolate square with almonds (especially when taking Prednisone, as I was last week. That stuff is sooo bitter.) I also put milk in my coffee. Confession done. The rest of it, the no gluten, no corn or soy, no problem.

Here’s the update:

Weight: X – 9. I have yet to cross the magic threshold into the next ten pound region, but that’ll come in time. Last week I went to buy some pants for work, and I went to my normal department (yes, the “Women’s” department), and tried on the size I always wear. They were way too big, and at first I thought they were just a bad cut. But they were Liz Claiborne, and her sizes usually fit me just fine. It took a minute for me to decide that maybe I just needed a smaller size. Bingo! That was it. A few more weeks of this and I’ll be shopping downstairs. That’ll be a celebration-worthy day!

Exercise: Oh, do I have to talk about this? I’ve been sick and have not even walked around the block. Could those things be connected? Of course.

Food: This was a sort of uninspired food week. Nice salads for lunch, chicken and apple or something like that in the evening. Today I went to the farmer’s market and got an interesting assortment of vegetables, so next week should be more interesting. As I walked through the crowded market today, I kept thinking, “You can’t give up and go home. You have to buy your week’s food here, now.” I could choose the grocery store, but prefer the market, even when I’m not feeling it, like today. So today I got some leeks, broccoli, red peppers, zucchini, apples and some tiny little red yams that sort of look like carrots. There seems to be a bridge to cross for me that involves my seeing the vegetables as my food for the week, as opposed to a side dish that I add on if I have the energy. I’m crossing it, slowly.

Oh, and I realized that I like coconut water just fine. It’s the milk that is too intense for me. I’m going to try it with lime juice. Will it curdle? I’ll let you know!

How I’m feeling: Punk. Last weekend my cold turned into asthmatic bronchitis, and I went to a medical facility to be checked out. I was loaded up with medication and taken off work for a couple of days until I felt better. I still feel kind of less than possible, and the medication has made food taste weird. Nothing tastes right, and I don’t feel right. The day after tomorrow is the last day of the last one, so I hope things get right after that.

Stay tuned for further updates. I think I’ll focus on exercise this week. I’ll let you know how that goes! Take care, and let me know if you have any great tips for me!

2 thoughts on “Paleo October, Day 15

  1. Bonnie Kaplan says:

    What a great use of your blog to write out your physical movement to wellness. Soon you will be including before and after photos ::)
    Bonnie

    Feel better friend.

Leave a Reply

