Paleo October Day 30

This kind of inside out sunset is a little like how I feel these days.  It’s been a month of Paleo for me, and it’s time to reassess.  At the beginning of the month I decided to try this for a month and see what’s what at the end of October.  So, here is my result:

I weigh ten pounds less than I did a month ago.  I have more energy, and I don’t have all the aches and pains I did a month ago.  That is true as long as I don’t eat sugar. So far sugar is my biggest obstacle.  The interesting thing about it is that I can feel a definite correlation between how I feel when I eat it and when I don’t.  When I eat sugar I get headaches, my neck and hip hurt, and my stomach feels kind of crampy.  You’d think I would never eat it, but the strength of my addition is such that I still think I can have just a little.  Or more than a little.  I’m having no problem avoiding wheat, gluten, corn or soy.  Dairy is no big deal either, so I guess I’m fortunate.

As for exercise, I’ve been riding my bike every day for the last few days and I love it.  It feels so good to ride.  I’ve been out for walks at the river a few times and that has been great as well.  So, while I haven’t made it to the gym yet, I have managed to make some strides in that direction.  Lately I’ve been interested in trying out the rowing machine there, so maybe I’ll go soon.  maybe.

So, my outcome?  I like this and feel like it is totally doable.  It doesn’t feel like I’m on a diet.  I want to continue with this Paleo challenge for another month.  This month my focus will be on sugar and exercise. I wonder if I can drink coffee without sugar.  I’ll be trying that.

So what’s in my refrigerator this week?  Leeks and Brussells Sprouts, broccoli and red peppers. Fresh eggs, carrot juice and coconut water.  Chicken and bacon, celery and almond butter, zucchini and spinach, limes and raspberries and organic apples.  There’s some beef jerky and seed and nut bars and Pellegrino water.  And coffee.

I will continue to nudge the sugar out of the way, and will definitely try that rowing thing.  And I’ll keep you posted along the way.  As always, thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Paleo October Day 30

  1. Bonnie k says:

    Bravo my friend. Success! 10 lbs. exercise feeling good, what’s better than that. now even with the M
    NaNoWriMo challenge, you need to keep up all these good habits
    Bonnie

  2. lynnjake says:

    Thanks Bonnie. I have made a good start, but still have a long way to go. That’s okay though, because if this is just a way of life, I will continue to get healthier. Thanks for the bravo! Lynn

Leave a Reply

