Coleslaw and Cauliflower

No photos of the food in this post. Too much white. A good heart is more apt.

Last Sunday I went to a Super Bowl party, and ate the best ever coleslaw.  Spicy, sweet, crunchy, all the right ingredients.  When I found out that the recipe for this treat came from the Food Network, I went home and looked it up, bought the ingredients and put them in my fridge with all the other things that sounded good and I didn’t make. They sat in there all week until tonight when there was nothing to eat, and I decided to use what  I had.

I looked up the recipe, which calls for sriracha (Rooster) sauce, which I usually have but am for some reason out of.  That’s puzzling, as I can’t imagine how or when I used a whole bottle of it.  I don’t use it on my eggs, which are the biggest part of my diet, and I seldom actually make any Thai food so who knows?  Not being a very ardent recipe follower, I just used some Valentina I found in the cupboard.  Mexican spicy rather than Thai spicy.  That worked out fine.  I also added some red bell pepper because you can’t go wrong with that either.  Otherwise I pretty much followed the recipe. I think it could use a little more cabbage as it is really dressingy.

Before I started making the salad, I cut up a cauliflower that was headed for oblivion, and sprinkled it with lime juice, olive oil and sea salt and stuck it in the oven to roast.  Then while that roasted I began cutting up the coleslaw vegetables.

The original reason for this food post was to extol the virtues of being a vegetable cooker.  As I sliced and diced and mixed and tasted, my feelings of inner peace and strength grew and grew.  I felt like a person who does the right thing.  A person who actually cooks with vegetables to make herself a special meal.  Like the kind of person who might make art or plant a garden or repaint that grungy looking front door.  Someone who does things, you know?  I was very full of myself after making that meal.

The next morning I woke up with chest pain.  The kind that feels like you have cobwebs in your chest and if only you could breathe a little more deeply they would let go.  Only you can’t really breathe that deeply, so the pain hovers in there.  Yes, indigestion.  That pain.  I got ready for work, packed my lunch (yep! more coleslaw) and off I went.  On my way home from school, I still  felt not quite right.  Still kind of hurting enough that I began to wonder if I should go get checked out.  They say women display heart problems in a different way from men – was I having that?  Or was it the cabbage?  I called on a physician friend, who advised me to take two Tylenol and wait twenty minutes.  It was probably related to the cabbage.  And guess what?  The Tylenol worked.

So much for my delicious coleslaw and cauliflower.  So much for the all powerful woman who does stuff.  I hope this doesn’t send me back into a funk.  There must be a message here that I’ve yet to find.  I’ll let you know if I find it.

6 thoughts on “Coleslaw and Cauliflower

  1. Jeannine says:

    Cabbage is tough, even on almost-invincible me. But here are two things I made on a similar fridge-cleaning binge last week with no repercussions except for a kitchen smelling like brussels sprouts: sprouts halved and roasted, covered, with edible lemon slivers, peel and all, garlic olive oil, and sea salt; and pulp of roasted spaghetti squash tossed with prosciutto, chopped parsley, and more of that garlic olive oil, which I got at the farmers’ market. Hummus with chopped arugula was good too.

  2. lynnjake says:

    Oh your creations sound delicious. I’m sure that the making of them would make a person feel so accomplished. Now that the fridge is too clean, I guess I need to hit the grocery store!

  3. dkzody says:

    Just don’t eat so many cruciferous veggies at one time! Choose cabbage OR cauliflower. Jeannine’s recipe for spaghetti squash sounds wonderful. Have to remember that one.

  4. lynnjake says:

    I know – there was something wrong with that meal, with all the food white on the plate. I think there’s a rule about eating different colored foods that applies to this situation!

  5. dkzody says:

    Lynn, I sure hope you haven’t given up writing. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen anything from you. I miss your pieces.

  6. lynnjake says:

    Hi Delaine. Thanks for asking. No, I haven’t given up writing but I certainly seem to be in a slump lately. I’m hoping to get a new post written very soon! It seems that the longer I go without writing the harder it is to dive in again. I’m working up to it!

Leave a Reply

