Beginning Again

Image

It’s been sixteen months since I’ve written here.  I don’t remember why I stopped.  I just did. There have been many things to write about in that time, of course.  Right around the time I stopped, I decided to sell my house.  I’d talked about doing so for about seven years, and no one around me really believed I’d do it, ever.  I’m pretty sure that most people thought I was full of talk and devoid of action.  I wouldn’t have wanted to write about that, that’s for sure.

I was still sad about my mom’s passing, but I didn’t want to write about that, either.  Work was moving along okay, nothing much noteworthy going on there, and besides, that’s the subject of another blog entirely.  That two blog thing was a source of consternation too.  Do I really need two? I still don’t know about that, but I can’t really figure out how to combine them or if I’d really want to, so I’m just letting it sit for now.

I had gotten a little overwhelmed by all the different places I was writing online, places that kept closing down.  It felt like dandelion seeds being blown all around the internet, never really landing anyplace solid.  So I just took a break.  A much longer one than I would have intended, if I’d thought about it.

But now I’m back.  I realize that I need to write, often.  My mind is much clearer when I do, and lately it’s been a little cluttered.  I can’t say how often I’ll write but I’ll try for a weekly post, at least.  I’ve made a couple of changes to the format of this blog.  I put all my book lists into one big (huge, long) one.  I’ve diminished the blogroll for the time being, and I’ve gotten rid of some categories.  I added a new header photo of Sago Palm fronds unfurling, and that’s it for now, I guess.

I hope that the people who used to read this will trust me enough to come back and read again, but I wouldn’t blame you if you didn’t.  So we’ll see.  I’ll get to write and just maybe something will strike a chord with someone.  I hope so, anyway.

P.S. I did sell my house, and bought a new one right away.  Awesome.  That’ll be another post.

4 thoughts on “Beginning Again

  1. blkdrama says:

    So happy to find a fresh post from you. I have only one blog now too and actually one computer as well.
    Makes things simpler:)
    At a conference in Indiana meeting up with slicers
    Happy Summer Vaca friend
    Bonnie

  2. lynnjake says:

    Thanks for reading and commenting, Bonnie. I actually do still have two blogs, but haven’t written in the other one again yet. Did you migrate your other blogs over to the one, or they just a blog museum now? That is such a quandry for me – like people are so dying to read my old posts! What about only one computer? How is that a change? Did you get rid of one? I’m going to just stay here for now, and when school starts I’ll decide where to write about school stuff!

    The conference sounds fun! Enjoy.

  3. dkzody says:

    I am thrilled to see you back here. You’re back on my blog roll, and I will be checking in on a regular basis. I am glad we have kept in touch via FB, but this is so much better.

Leave a Reply

