CLMOOC Week 5: Storytelling With Light, Part 1

IMG_4111This week’s make is about storytelling with light. I’ve wandered around in my mind about this, as usual. Does the light have to come from a coin battery and copper tape and an LCD light? I don’t think so. Could it be moving light photography, like the photo above, bringing up a story of a cold walk on a December evening, taking pictures of Christmas lights? Of course it could.


IMG_9084_2

 

Maybe it’s the light of a child’s spinning toy, that brings memories of a special night out.

IMG_4021

Or a single porchlight, creating a bird of paradise on the wall, that brings forth an almost forgotten love story.

IMG_0111

Or what about a really great sunset, all fiery and hot? Certainly this could be the impetus for a story. Or at least a backdrop for a story. A memory of a desperate need to get to the river before the sun set to glimpse the last moments of the day.

IMG_0029Sometimes the light is cold, seeping into your body, bringing up memories of times gone by, wintry times of emptiness, when you were really glad to get back to your warm home, even though no one but you were ever there.

IMG_9264

Consider the glow of a backlight that puts in silhouette a bride arranging her reception table before the guests arrive.

IMG_2310

Not everyone knows that it’s the last few minutes of the sunset, just before the sun is gone that is the most beautiful. Most people leave too soon, missing the best part. The story.

IMG_0547

When the moon goes behind a cloud, it’s easy to imagine angels in the sky, moving around, back and forth.

IMG_3702Sometimes the light seems to be swallowed up by the water, even on a sunny day, holding on its surface the heartbreak of loss, a simple poem, floating out to sea.

IMG_0068

And sometimes the the water won’t absorb the light for anything. It just throws it back and back in a stunning play of glimmer, as though the Earth is showing off her glory. One can never get enough of scenes like this; our eyes hunger to take it all in and hold it fast.

These particular light stories hint at stories of solitude and pensiveness. A different set could tell a different type of story completely.

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “CLMOOC Week 5: Storytelling With Light, Part 1

  1. KevinHodgson (@dogtrax) says:

    What an array of images and views of light, Lynn. Nice, and I like your comment about “wandering around” with an idea fixed in your mind. Me, too. Lots of wandering. Is your blog in the CLMOOC Blog Hub?
    Kevin

  2. lynnjake says:

    Thanks, Kevin. there is definitely a sense of wandering when one is considering hacking something. Maybe we are Wandering Hackers or Wandering Makers. Something like that!

    I can’t tell if my blog is in the Hub. I have submitted it twice. The first time I was told it would take a couple of days to show up, but I have never seen it there, so yesterday I tried again. We’ll see if it shows up this time!

  3. lynnjake says:

    Thanks, Luke. Preparing the post made me take a second look at my photos, and choose and discard carefully from among them. Thanks also for checking the blog hub for me!

  4. blkdrama says:

    I agree with Luke. What a wonderful set of images and text. Wonderful my friend. I’m up next week. I hope you’ll play with us.

  5. lynnjake says:

    Thanks, Bonnie! I’m in Taos at a writing retreat, so am not sure I can do this make, although I am burning to do so! Definitely when I get home, but I am out of the loop as far as the weekly activities go. I’m sorry I’m missing you!

Leave a Reply

