Listing My Life, Day Two

IMG_6214

Here we go again. Day two, in which I ramble around again, searching for whatever I’m thinking about. Probably in preparation for my beginning to work on an actual project again, but maybe just a list a day for a while. Which is okay with me. Actually, this list making is pretty satisfying. Thank you to those of you who read yesterday’s list, and double thanks to you who left comments, here and on Facebook. It’s great to know someone is reading what I write! Here goes day two:

1. The picture above is the Day of the Dead altar my students and a parent and I made for our school. Even though el Dia de los Muertos is a Mexican holiday, people of all descents participate in our altar. We love the time it is up in the hallway. Each of those little colored squares and photos is a memorial to a family member who has passed away. This is our fourth year of doing this. Yesterday I read an article which a Mexican-American friend posted on Facebook entitled “Dear White People: You Want Our Culture But You Don’t Want Us.” While I understood the message of the article, I felt like shit a little bit. Like, why do we all keep on dividing ourselves? Can’t we all become a little more loving and accepting across both/all sides of this aisle of race and culture? Must I be embarrassed about being white? Apologize for it? Sorry, I can’t help it. This is just the luck of the draw. It’s who I am. I hope I’m not contributing to the things that piss people off. I’m also a senior citizen. We baby boomers are hitting that status in droves.

2. Enough of that. Today I decided I’d take my walk in lower Bidwell Park. In Chico we have a city park that is seven miles long. It ranges from downtown, through a big flat, well tended park to a less and less tended park, to a series of rocky rambling trails into the foothills. It’s our pride and joy, really. Lately I haven’t been going there very much. So I was disappointed that the entry to the park was closed today due to a running event. I decided to go to upper park to walk instead, and there were runners there. I guess it was a marathon, maybe. Anyway, I parked my car and hiked up a rocky trail to the top of the hill. It was beautiful. The air was just perfect. Warm with an undertone of crispness. Sounds like I’m describing a wine, doesn’t it? No wine. Just air. Here is a picture of lower park:

IMG_0827

And here is where I walked today:

IMG_6235

4.At this time of year I get obsessed with taking photos of migratory birds, especially at sunset or sunrise. I go to the bird refuge which is about 15 minutes away and capture whatever I can see. I especially love it when the Sandhill Cranes come in for the evening. They are always the last ones to arrive, so I have to wait until it’s almost dark for them. They are huge birds with a loud raucous call. There is another place to watch for birds and sunsets, which is usually completely devoid of people. It is a collection of settling or overflow ponds behind the sewage treatment plant, outside of town. It smells a little ripe walking past the plant, but once beyond it, there is no smell. Just egrets and ducks and geese and walking paths. A good sunset is superb out there, with all the reflection. Here’s the thing about me watching these birds: I am not a bird watcher in any other sense of the word. I went out on a goose-viewing jaunt one day with a group of bird watchers, and I could hardly stand it. The competition to see a new bird, the conversations touting all the birds each has managed to see just bugs me. I am definitely a solitary bird watcher. Except I like to go see birds with my friend Jeannine. Even though she is definitely a bird watcher, she is not at all annoying about it. I love to go out with her. Here is a shot of a Sandhill Crane I got when I went out on a photo of birds outing with the bird refuge people. The leader let me borrow his 400mm lens. It was amazing to use that equipment!

IMG_0153

I like this one, too, of a Kildeer (I think), taken with the same lens:
IMG_0294

5. I see the plant nurseries are having sales. I wonder what you can plant right now. Cyclamen, for sure, and I suppose tulips or other bulbs, but isn’t that all? I have a dilemma about my garden. I have this big orange tree that I wrote about yesterday. Last year it hid all its oranges inside its branches. I almost missed them. This year they are everywhere. It is loaded. Right next to it is an apple tree. It had six apples this year, which somehow disappeared when I was in New Mexico last summer. Not even a rotten core was left. It’s a young tree and is really too close to the orange. I value the oranges more than the apples. I think to be good, apples need a little colder environment than my hot valley yard. But I think the orange is beginning to avoid the apple, so I’m thinking of taking it out. The apple. That seems wrong somehow, yet maybe necessary. I’d rather have a fig tree or a nectarine, a little further from the orange. It’s a dilemma that I think about quite a bit. I wonder if I have a photo of this situation. Here: any ideas?

IMG_6242

6. Today I’m making egg cupcakes for breakfast this week. They are a delicious and easy way to get some protein and vegetables for breakfast. I found the recipe in Sarah’s first cookbook, “Everyday Paleo” and have adapted it to fit myself. I cut up zucchini, roasted poblano chiles, spinach, red peppers and bacon. I mix it with eggs and some sea salt and maybe some ground New Mexico chiles and bake it in a muffin tin. Then I just keep them in the fridge and pop a couple of them into the toaster oven every morning. They get crispy and are really a treat. The only part that I don’t like about making them is they get stuck in the muffin tins and I haven’t been able to work that out. I grease it liberally with coconut oil, but still they stick. I’ve tried removing them hot and not hot, and there is no definitely predictable solution so far. I also tried those paper muffin things. Nope. Worse, they had paper stuck to them.

I guess I’m going to stop now. I”m posting more photos than words, it seems like. Balance. I must work towards that. I could keep this list making thing going on for a while. I just keep thinking of things to talk about, and no one is interrupting me, and I don’t have to write a whole post about it, so I just keep going. But there are lessons to plan and food to prepare so enough better be enough for today. Just one more photo, an older one, of sunset at the settling ponds, on a day when I felt like I was inside of a kaleidoscope:

IMG_5499

Have a great day.

8 thoughts on “Listing My Life, Day Two

  1. kd0602 says:

    Hi Lynn,

    I’m loving the photos. As a native Californian, I have to admit to never having been to Chico! Your descriptions are beautiful…and I was surprised as you described many of the same birds I see at the beach and the lagoon here in San Diego (although no sandhill cranes, but other kids of egrets and herons).

    I noticed you skipped number 3 today! And now I am wondering what it would be if you had included it… 🙂

    Enjoy your extra hour today…and have a great week. (Will you continue to blog as you head back to work this week?)

    Kim

  2. lynnjake says:

    Hi Kim, Thanks for reading. I didn’t even notice that I skipped number 3 today. That’s an indication of something, I suppose! Be on the lookout for two number threes tomorrow. I know just what it would have been! I do think I will continue to blog into this next week. The listing is very enabling for me right now. I hope you have a great week as well. This extra hour is delicious, isn’t it?

  3. dkzody says:

    Lynn, you are so funny. If you were one of your own students, you would say, ‘just write; let the words tumble out into the page.’ Yet here you are, fretting over ideas and what to write. Take your own advice–just write.

  4. lynnjake says:

    Thank you Delaine. At the moment, this is what I have. I’m actually not fretting about it, which is a relief from the silent times of the past weeks, when everything I started to write sounded stilted or not worth writing. This listing activity is freeing, somehow. Hard to explain!

  5. blkdrama says:

    Love your renewed energy my friend. Your moments are layered and rich with words and image. LOVE THEM ALL!!!!
    I have a new video piece inspired by the One Second EveryDay experiment and shared as a TED Talk, made even more famous in my favorite summer movie, CHEF. I’m at it with a revisionary approach to a minute of so almost every day.

  6. lynnjake says:

    Wow, I can hardly wait to see it. It sounds very interesting. Thanks for reading and commenting, Bonnie. Wish I was going to DC this month, but I’m not.

Leave a Reply

