Paleo Stuffed Acorn Squash – Wow!

IMG_6327Now, I’m clearly not a food photographer, and this isn’t a food blog, but I have to tell you about a delicious thing I made tonight. The basic recipe is Sarah Fragoso’s (It’s in her Everyday Paleo Family Cookbook). That is the only one of her cookbooks I don’t have, so I just asked her how to make it and then improvised. I’m never a good recipe follower, but I do like to know the basic idea and then go from there. This stuffed acorn squash turned out so interesting and delicious, I just had to share it. I am usually a simple eater, but I’m trying to change things up a little and make some delicious Paleo food, so this is my first try for a dinner recipe.  Here goes:

Ingredients:

2 Acorn Squashes, cut in half and scooped out.
Butter and Nutmeg or Pumpkin Pie spice to taste (Or ghee if you don’t use butter.)

Bake the squash upside down in a 350 degree oven for about half an hour. When it is pretty well cooked, turn it right side up and put some butter and a little of the sweet spice in it. Return it to the oven for about 5 minutes.

Filling:

While the squash is baking make the filling. The ingredients I used are:

1 Onion and 2 cloves garlic, chopped.
1 pound of ground pork (I used Llano Seco grass-fed pork)
2 medium size zucchini squashes, cut small
2 Bosc pears, peeled and seeded, cut the same size as the zucchini
2 small ancho chiles, roasted and seeded and chopped
For seasoning I used Kosher salt, cumin, ground red New Mexico chiles and a spice mix that smells like sage. Just add these to taste – I didn’t measure, but I just sprinkled some in. (Sorry, I’m not a measurer.)

Saute all this together, beginning with the onion and garlic, adding the pork and cooking until the pork is cooked and the onion transparent. Then I added the vegetables and pears and the spices, stirred it up and cooked it on medium heat for about 15 minutes.

Once the squash is done, take it out and fill it with the filling. Return it to the oven for 10 minutes and serve it. It was so yummy and so easy to do! I overdid it a little on the red chile, but I like things spicy so it was fine with me. You really can put in any seasoning you like. The surprising part is the pear and sweet spice with the savory dish. So delicious!

If this is impossible to figure out because I’m not very precise and even a little vague, you could check out Sarah’s cookbook. It’s full of delicious well seasoned recipes. I’m going to be working my way through it/them this winter.

 

2 thoughts on “Paleo Stuffed Acorn Squash – Wow!

Leave a Reply

