Finally Friday (solsc) 6/31

Finally Friday. I think that should be the name of this day every week. Today is the day my students hand in the work they’ve done this week. They take a vocabulary quiz and just wind up the week. This week they wrote essays for their History classes. I teach English Learners and writing this piece was really a struggle for them. Although it wasn’t a particularly successful venture, we gave it a good effort. And now we’ll move on.

Aside from the essay, we made some sweet little mini-book reports. I love office supplies. Cool pens, Post-its, special notebooks and fancy duct tape just make me smile. Last weekend I bought 500 shipping tags, just because I liked them and I was sure I could come up with something to do with them. I could have chosen the pack of 100, but they had wires to hang them by. The box of 500 was only twice as much and those had white cotton strings as hangers. This aesthetic was important to me, so I now have a lifetime supply of shipping tags. Look below at our book tags. These photos are of the same tags. The first picture is the title side and the second one is the “tell a little something about the book and make another illustration” side.

They’re sweet, aren’t they? We read for 12 – 15 m inutes each day in my class. Because my students are long term English learners, I think one of the most important things they need to learn is to read. I want them to be readers and I know that the only way that will happen is if they have time to read books they want to read. (Can you tell I’m a big Krashen fan?) Things like reading logs and big book reports and projects seem to me like deterrents to learning to love reading, so I think something small might be better. I know not everyone shares this opinion, but it’s mine and I’ll stand by it! The students enjoyed these little projects, and I love how they look!

Have a sweet Friday.

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

13 thoughts on “Finally Friday (solsc) 6/31

  1. Katy Collins says:

    Oh! I love this idea! Such a fabulous plan for making reading visual and spreading the reading bug around the room! I think kids are so much more inclined to read when it’s something a peer recommends. I may have to use this in the future! Thanks for the share!

  2. lynnjake says:

    Thanks Kevin. I really do love them! My daughter thinks I’m whacked! She just can’t see the romance of a pack of Post-it notes. Hm.

  3. Jaana says:

    I am officially in love with shipping tags after reading your post! My mind turning around a mile a minute as I am trying to see how I could use those shipping tags in my Sheltered English class in high school (I teacher English learners as well). May I show your photos to others at my school??

  4. Tricia Ebarvia says:

    I love these! I teach 9th grade, but I think they would also enjoy making book tags like this, too. I’m always looking for ways to make their reading more visible to each other. Great idea!

  5. Jeannine Gendar says:

    In Port Costa there’s a wishing tree: people put wishes on shipping tags and hang them on the tree. There are lots of wishes–it’s quite a sight. Is your class displaying the book reports? Well anyhow, this is just a brilliant idea, and an excellent use of precious office supplies. (Did you used to hang out at the stationery store in high school? I did.)

  6. lynnjake says:

    Oh there is always another reason we’re friends! I’ve always loved office supply stores. And yes, the tags are hung all together on a red bulletin board. So far there are about 25 of them. I love the idea of a wishing tree. For a couple of years we had a gratitude tree in Chico with shipping tags hanging on it. People would stop and write on a tag and hang it in the branches. Fun.

Leave a Reply

