On Napping (solsc15) 12/31

cropped-img_3226.jpg

New Sago Palm Frond.

I love to nap. I’m a completely skilled napper. I think I have a psychic connection to the Universe when I nap. I know, that sounds dumb, but let me explain. For at least oh, twenty years this is how my naps go: I decide I’m going to sleep, and I go lay down. I look at the clock and then in my head I say, “give me twenty minutes (or however long I want to sleep).” Then I go to sleep with no qualms at all. I just fall right to sleep.

Inevitably something happens to wake me up at exactly at the time I’ve requested. I’m so not even lying. Once I was sleeping in a hotel room in Sedona, Arizona. I had made my time request, and gone to sleep. In exactly the time I’d asked there was a loud knock at my hotel door. I woke up and went to look through the peephole and no one was there. This has happened so many times. There will be a nobody knock like that one, or the phone will ring or my dog will bark. She loves it when she gets to do that.  This has been going on for so long that I absolutely count on it. It always works. Weird, huh?

I have learned that thirty minutes is the longest nap I can allow myself. Much more than that and I get all lost in it, groggy, dreaming and I feel terrible when I finally wake up.  A few years ago I decided to try some different times. I will confess I was on my prep at school and I just felt like I was going to fall asleep. I was completely unproductive and I needed to get things done, so I decided to set my phone alarm for twelve minutes. Not so long that I’d waste my whole prep or I’d get groggy, but long enough to refresh my mind.  At first I felt guilty about it, but what use am I if I’m nodding off?  (I didn’t want to count on the ‘psychic alarm’ and sleep too long, hence the phone alarm.)This works like a dream. I just slump back in my desk chair and close my eyes and within a minute or so I’m asleep. When the alarm rings, I pop up, ready to go. Fresh and alert. I don’t do it often, but when I need it, I do it.

How about you? Are you a napper? Do you have any napping tips?

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

10 thoughts on “On Napping (solsc15) 12/31

  1. blkdrama says:

    I am so a napper and I’m good at it too but I’ve never had your experiences. No knocking on my door. But I agree, those short, power naps are the best. Just had one on the beach and I’m up and ready for say a 4:30 chocolate marathon at the Excellence Club, just for a bit of fantasy, right?

  2. rissable says:

    I can nap anywhere….anytime. Trouble is I can’t always fall or stay asleep in my bed during the nighttime. But give me 10 minutes and I’m completely refreshed! Maybe I’ll write a slice about napping too!

  3. mbhmaine says:

    Loved your post and your psychic connection to the Universe when you nap! Thanks for the smiles! I’m not much of a napper as I tend to be, ahem, not so sweet when I awaken. I can sleep almost anywhere though–I’ve been able to drop off quickly ever since I used to get up to bake at 3:45 am. Then, I used to drop off at stop lights. Not so good. Thanks for posting!

  4. franmccrackin says:

    What a fun post- this is your SUPERPOWER!
    I have to tell you a story it reminded me of-
    a famous conductor (I forget who) would take naps this way:
    sit in a hard chair, holding a spoon in one hand. With a metal
    pan on the floor at his side. When he fell asleep enough to release the spoon,
    it would clatter in the pan waking him up. That was just enough to be a refreshing nap!

Leave a Reply

