Sleeping. And Not Sleeping. (solsc2015) 29/31

A while ago I wrote a post about napping. I’m a really good napper, and perhaps you would make the assumption that I’m equally good as a night time sleeper. But you’d be wrong. (Which is probably why I’ve become so skilled at napping.) I go to sleep okay, usually, but I wake up in the middle of the night, wide awake, ready to go. Only it’s only 2:30 or 3:00 in the morning. I do the math, counting how many hours until I have to get up (at 5:15) and I start to worry. I imagine how I’ll teach school on only five hours of sleep. I imagine the twelve minute nap I’ll have to take on my prep. And then I’m even less sleepy.

I have done a little tiny bit of research about what lack of sleep does to your body and it’s all bad. Increased levels of cortisol due to sleeplessness make you hold fat, especially in the abdomen where it’s dangerous to have fat, the place where I always store it. There. I am not an expert on sleep at all, but I do know about not sleep. And it’s a drag. So lately I’ve been working on what will help me sleep.

Last Thursday my trainer, Sarah, suggested I take magnesium before sleep. Some fizzy citrusy stuff called Natural Calm was what she recommended. So I’m trying some meditation and Natural Calm before bed, in hopes that I’ll manage a full night’s sleep. I think it’s getting better. Last night I got seven hours. which is kind of outstanding. And now I’m off to try again.

What about you? Do you have any sleep issues? How do you deal with them? I’m open to suggestions!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

12 thoughts on “Sleeping. And Not Sleeping. (solsc2015) 29/31

  1. Patricia Kaiser says:

    You could also try a supplement called Cortisol Manager, and Lavela (which is a tiny pill containing lavender, a natural relaxant). Maybe I could add the link for it here: http://www.amazon.com/Integrative-Therapeutics-Lavela-Softgels-Count/dp/B0072POIB8. I take it about a half hour before bed and find it very calming. My functional medicine doctor turned me onto both of them :~} If you think you’ve got too much cortisol, you could take a saliva test for it (which is what I did). Too much cortisol, no bueno!

  2. Patricia Kaiser says:

    Oh, and btw, Magnesium is really good for your heart (esp. magnesium glycinate ~ 400 mg. ~ cardiologist recommended) and digestion! Good call!

  3. dkzody says:

    I take a calcium/magnesium combo at bedtime. Does it help? Maybe. I sleep very well, most nights, except for those nights where the day was so jam-packed or if I attended an evening event. Then I rehash the events. I rarely go out in the evenings because I find it too hard to be an extrovert late in the day.

  4. lynnjake says:

    Thanks, Patty. This is so interesting. I’m going to check out the supplements and the saliva test for cortisol. What is functional medicine? Sounds great. Thanks again.

  5. lynnjake says:

    I think I can relate to not wanting to be an extrovert too late in the day. More and more it feels like time to wind down and contemplate rather than emote. I think you’re on the right track.

  6. Patricia Kaiser says:

    Something about functional medicine: https://www.functionalmedicine.org/What_is_Functional_Medicine/AboutFM/
    It takes genetics into account, which is a good thing. I took all my 23 & Me DNA results to my functional medicine MD to figure out what I should be taking for supplements (and not taking). It’s a good idea for everyone to do that, and what seems perhaps cutting edge now will be commonplace in the future. I just read where there’s a company that can take a cheek swab for patients of psychiatrists that will determine which, if any, psychotropic meds will be effective. I’ve already recommended it for one client that I see.

  7. lynnjake says:

    This is very interesting. I don’t know if we have such an MD here in Chico. I’m going to read up on it and see what I can find. Thanks for sharing this info.

  8. Mandy Robek says:

    I enjoyed reading about your problem and a possible solution, I hope you find more success.

Leave a Reply

