Out of Sorts (solsc2015) 30/31

Water under the bridge - that's all it is, ultimately.  Not sure why little things can be so disheartening...

Water under the bridge – that’s all it is, ultimately. Not sure why little things can be so disheartening…

Hm. Tonight I feel out of sorts. It’s one of those things that I can’t quite put my finger on. The school day went well enough. Nothing great, but nothing horrid either.  Just normal stuff, compliance couched in defiant clothing, over-excited kids because – who  knows why? – maybe  because it’s Monday.

When I got home from school the guy who I’m buying a new screen door from was waiting to take out the old one and measure for the new. While I was pleasantly chatting with him, and unloading the dishwasher (because who else is going to do it?), I discovered that my son was putting his dirty, un-rinsed dishes in with the clean dishes. That irritated me, but I tried to accept it with a measure of equanimity.

Later I went to a book club meeting. The discussion was about the book Everything I Never Told You which I have only read about a quarter of. It’s depressing, the characters  are pretty non-lovable, but it’s definitely readable. I’ll probably finish it, but neither reading it nor discussing it was in any way uplifting. Then we got to the (way overpriced) restaurant, where it seemed that we had a table reserved, and they told us that they don’t take reservations and the table for 8 that they’d set up for us was just taken by another party. They barely brought water, even after we asked for it, and no refills were offered. Water is scarce in California, and they are not allowed to just assume you want water, but I wasn’t having wine, so they could have at least asked if I wanted some water. I know, nit-picky, but dang! That waiter was acting so fancy , he should have at least offered water.

Now I’ve finally got time to sit down and write a blog post and I realize that it won’t even count in the challenge because in California it is after 9:00 P.M. Tonight this seems unfair, since you have until midnight if you live on the East Coast. My day started at 5:00 A.M. and this is the first minute all day I’ve had to do this, and it doesn’t count? Whatever. I’m not hoping for any prizes anyway. And yet. I had a perfect record! UPDATE: I can’t even post this to the slice challenge page, as comments are closed. Oh well. It’s not much fun to read anyway. And yet.

Ugh! Aren’t you sorry you stopped by? Sorry. I’ll try to pick it up tomorrow. The last day of a long month of writing a post a day. It’s been a fun challenge, and I’m glad I did it. Now what will I do? I need a new goal for April, I think!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

7 thoughts on “Out of Sorts (solsc2015) 30/31

  1. Lisa Weikel says:

    Yeah, you’re right. That’s totally not fair that your blog post didn’t count in the challenge, just because you live on the West Coast. Midnight is midnight, wherever you live. And 5:00 a.m. is a freaking ridiculous time to have to start your day, wherever you live.

    I hear you! And I stand in solidarity with you in witnessing your out-of-sorts, cranky-ass day.

    I’ll bet you’re glad it’s over!
    Big hugs

  2. lynnjake says:

    Thanks for your support, Lisa! I am glad yesterday is over, and I’ll hope for better today. At least I get to work out tonight. That usually helps curb the crankiness! Have a great day!

  3. blkdrama says:

    Nope! I’m always happy to enter your world friend, whether you make the challenge deadline or not. No matter what’s on your mind, it’s always interesting.
    Thanks!

  4. lynnjake says:

    Thanks Bonnie. I guess having a three-hour earlier deadline is just the price we pay for being on the west coast! Thanks for reading anyway!

  5. dkzody says:

    We all have those days, and yet we don’t often share them with the public. Glad you did it, whether you got “credit” for it or not. We would tell our students that it’s not the credit, but the learning process.

    I’ve been pouring my anxieties and fears out on my journal pages as of late. I remember while teaching I would often have those off-putting days that just made one out of sorts. I would write my feelings on the journal pages, too. We all need a place to vent.

  6. lynnjake says:

    Indeed. Mine isn’t usually in my blog, but last night that was all I had! I’m glad I don’t often have days like that. The journal is a good place to leave it!

Leave a Reply

