Last Day of a Challenge (solsc2015) 31/31

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Woot! This is it, the last of 31 days, 31 blog posts in a row. Even if yesterday’s post didn’t count because my day didn’t wind down until after 9:00 P.M and that is the early-bird cutoff time for West Coasters, I know that I managed a new post every day of March. So, what did I learn? Let’s see…

Each day I found something to write about. Some days it was a list of random things I was thinking about, some days a specific thing. I never knew in advance what it would be. Only when I sat down to write did the idea arrive. Before I started this, I didn’t sit down to write a blog post until I knew what I was going to write about. That often meant long intervals between posts. Now I’ve begun to think that it’s about regularity. Like, “Today’s a post day. Let’s see what I’ll write about.”

Commenting every day has introduced me to some new blogs that I really enjoy. I feel in this way that I’ve made some new friends.  I want to know what these people have to say each day, and I know I can count on them being interesting. This has been a big bonus of this challenge. I’m thankful for having so many people’s writing to read and think about and respond to. The comments were so uplifting! They definitely give added value to writing a blog!

I’ve posted a photo or two most days. Sometimes they were pertinent to the specifics of the post and some to the spirit of it. I tried to always choose those that added in some way to the post .All but five were photos that I took myself.  In doing this photo posting I learned the value of a caption. If the photo isn’t specific, then the caption has to tie it to the idea of the post.

Here is my last list, the list of things I plan to do with my blog in the future, as a result of this challenge:

1. I will post one or two days every week, the same two days each week.The specifics of what and when I post will come.

2. I’ll continue to use captions with the photos in the blog and make sure I have a fresh supply of photos. (This will have the added bonus of me taking more photos than I sometimes do.)

3.  I will read and respond to several blogs every week. I have at least six new blogs in my reader that I’m looking forward to following.

This is a list, not a menu. If I add one more thing it’ll become a menu, so here I end. Thank you to everyone who read and commented on my blog posts all those days. It truly made my day to see comments waiting for me. I hope you’ll continue to read, because I plan to continue to write! Be well.

IMG_0118

At the end of the day, taking time to reflect is enriching, I think. 

5 thoughts on “Last Day of a Challenge (solsc2015) 31/31

  1. beckymusician says:

    What a gorgeous photo! I have really enjoying this blogging community, too. I too plan to continue writing regularly. I am impressed and encouraged that you sat down without an idea every day and came up with something to write about. Happy writing!

  2. jgendar says:

    Congratulations on having met that challenge. I enjoyed reading it all, even the one you apologized for, and look forward to hearing how things go with the sleeping potion. And other things as well. I love the message that we don’t have to know what we’re writing about till we sit down and do it.

  3. lynnjake says:

    Thanks Jeannine. It was fun, and I find that I’m thinking more like a writer now for having done it. I plan to forge ahead, maybe even (gasp) start a writing project of some sort. I hope all’s well with you.

  4. dkzody says:

    I’ll check in once a week to see how you are doing on keeping the writing commitment. I can never force myself to write a certain number of posts a week, especially one a day. I just write when I feel like it.

Leave a Reply

