Things that are dear to us

We’re in the midst of the holiday season now, a time to think about and enjoy being with with those people that we care about.  As the year draws to a close, I am always drawn to what and who is really important to me, hence the topic for our Day in a Sentence this week.  Everyone who responded did so in such a heartfelt way, their sentences speak clearly about things and people dear…

Cheryl Oakes really captured the essence of a cold winter day:  “Those things which I hold near and dear include family moments including a snowstorm, shoveling, food and drinking warm cocoa.”

Delaine Zody has been exploring Christmas in San Francisco lately:  “The streets of San Francisco have become very dear to me in these months away from the tyranny of the classroom.”

Alicia McCauley is treasuring a gift:  “Carved from Jerusalem olive branches and passed down from the hands of my grandmother and my mother, I let my fingers linger on the Christ child who has traveled such a long distance, such a long time, to be with me this Christmas season.”

http://www.flickr.com/photos/48611469@N02/5240571777/

Ken Allen sends us a little poetry from middle earth:  “The home becomes cluttered quite littered with joys – with loose ribbons and wrappings and colourful toys, with fine shreds from the Christmas tree’s glittering shawl – for the children who make Christmas Christmas for all.”

Gail Poulin is feeling thankful :  “More often than not, the things we appreciate the most are embedded in our hearts and minds by some pretty big personal challenges.”

Bonnie has been enjoying the richness of Chanukah: “I am grateful for the lights of Chanukah. Last night was the last night. I put my menorah back on the shelf and I already miss it lights. As a kid it was just a means to an end (the present). Now it’s everything…”

I am happy that my good friend, Lynda Bradbury has joined us this week: “My faith and my family are the dearest things in my wonderful life, I am so blessed.”

Joseph McCaleb has just celebrated a milestone birthday:  “So 43 years ago “When I’m Sixty-Four” was released on Sgt. Pepper’s, and yesterday I was: thankful for good health, good work, good home w/ good wife, horse, dog, & so much beauty!”

And he adds a postscript:  “and I forgot to add: good friends, especially nwp-ers!”

Amanda Cornwell says: Thanks to the impeccable timing of my dear husband, I WAS able to put together a video of the things I hold most dear! The best part was that it took all of a few mouse clicks and voila – it was done!”

Unfortunately, it seems reluctant to open, so here is her sentence: “This week I am particularly moved by the relationships in my life – thinking of the ways in which my children and my students both elate (and frustrate) me, I realize I wouldn’t want it any other way.”

And to end, I say, “I love this warm and pensive time of year, when I look at my great good fortune, and the wonderful people in my life and am so very thankful for all I’ve been given.”

I wish you all the warmth and joy of this time of year, and the best year yet in 2011.

ADDENDUM:  Here are a couple of late-breaking sentences~

From April Niemala: The knowing smile of a friend, the warmth of my cat, my husband’s hand in mine — these all remind me of the beauty of life in specific; but Christmas season beckons with its joyous sense of bated breath and hopeful waiting that has nothing to do w/ material gifts and everything to do with the heart of giving. Merry Christmas, writerly friends :)

And from Kevin:

Ahhh man — I even emailed you and you responded, and I was all set to submit and then … ack … who knows what happened.

I continue to be thankful for all of you and us who keep Day in a Sentence alive and well, and moving across the world.

Kevin

3 thoughts on “Things that are dear to us

  1. Kevin Hodgson says:

    Ahhh man — I even emailed you and you responded, and I was all set to submit and then … ack … who knows what happened.

    I continue to be thankful for all of you and us who keep Day in a Sentence alive and well, and moving across the world.

    Kevin

  2. April Niemela says:

    The knowing smile of a friend, the warmth of my cat, my husband’s hand in mine — these all remind me of the beauty of life in specific; but Christmas season beckons with its joyous sense of bated breath and hopeful waiting that has nothing to do w/ material gifts and everything to do with the heart of giving. Merry Christmas, writerly friends 🙂

Leave a comment